Comrades running

Comrades Highlights - 11 June 2023

Comrades partnership

For the 2023 season of the Comrades Marathon, Bavaria is thrilled to announce its partnership. As an enthusiast of being active and running, Africa offers the ideal setting for this awe-inspiring marathon.


Nedbank partnership

Bavaria is proud to partner with Nedbank Running Club for the 2023 season of the Comrades Marathon. Africa is a beautiful and diverse continent and the perfect playground for the epic marathon.


Comrades Marathon_Tete Morena Dijana

Tete Morena Dijana

Tete Morena Dijana (born 1988) is a South African ultramarathon runner who won the Comrades Marathon in 2022. Dijana quit his job as a security guard at North-West University to focus on running and it paid off when he claimed the title of winner of the 2022 Comrades Marathon with a time of 5:30:38.

Comrades Marathon

Irvette Van Zyl

Born in Sandton, South Africa, Irvette Van Zyl won her first major race at the Zevenheuvelenloop in 2002. She was just 15 years old and on holiday in the Netherlands at the time. In 2021, Irvette set the women’s 50k world record for a women’s-only race in 3:04:24.

Comrades Marathon_Edward Mothibi

Edward Mothibi

Born in Magoegoe, Mahikeng, the North West, Edward Mothibi has competed in both endurance and long-distance races. In June 2019, Mothibi emerged as the winner of the men's race at the Comrades Marathon and took home the coveted trophy for the first time with a time of 5:31:33. 

Comrades Marathon_Galaletsang Mekgoe

Galaletsang Mekgoe

At 26, Galaletsang Mekgoe - who hails from the township of Luka in Rustenburg - made history by becoming only the fourth black South African woman to secure a position in the top 10, despite being a novice. Galaletsang finished with a time of 06:42:52.